Vacform Britannia

Show us what's on the bench

Vacform Britannia

Postby VH-WAL » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:40 pm

I have progressed with the Britannia fuselage, look, I am not declaring I am a fine modeller or expert or anything like that but as a few people have expressed interest in vac form projects I am putting in a bit of stuff that I have learned and maybe useful to others..
so number one,I like my vacform fuselages to be as strong as a baseball bat (slight exaggeration, rigid and strong will do) to this end I make bulkheads and position them strategically inside the fuselage I put in a box structure at the wing centre section to mount wing spars for a strong no-sag wing / fuselage joint.
I used to make the ribs out of balsa and used epoxy but now I cut out plastic discs.. much much easier but for this need essential tools:
a shape form thingamujig and a circle cutter.

I dont know about you lot but I often find with many kits that the bulkheads often dont fit very well inside the fuselage sometimes you have to sand them down to close up the fuselage sides or sometimes they dont meet the other side.. not much of a problem with injected kits but big problem with vacforms. This may very well be due to my modelling ineptitude but I developed a "cheat" that helps me solve this problem.

When the bulkheads are in and ready to join the fuselage halves I apply paint on the bulkhead edges push the halves together and see if and where the bulkheads touch the inside of the other fuselage half. If the joining surface area is not satisfactory I make what I call floating bulkheads.. a picture tells a thousand words:
After making these I position the floating bulkheads in their frames (no glue yet), press the two fuselage halves together causing the floating bulkhead to slide in the frame and give a perfect gluing surface area, pull the halves apart run liquid cement in the frames and the floating bulkheads are now locked into the perfect position.